Member Reviews for BrakeAway Products Motorcycle Cruise Control

BrakeAway Products Motorcycle Cruise Control


Buy Now. Earn 189 Reward Miles!
Member Submitted Photos & Videos
Submit Your Own Photo or Video
Powered by MotoTribe
Free Shipping on orders over 199. Lowest Price Guarantee.
HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99% of hacker crime.
Package Deals
Part Number: BAW-MCC
MSRP: 199.95
Price: $189.00   Please note that due to currency fluctuations between date of order and date of shipment there can be a change in the amount in the local currency
Same as Manufacturer Part Number 7CP01
FREE SHIPPING*
In Stock Usually ships within 1 business day what's this?



CruiserCustomizing Staff Pick


Member Reviews

Write a review and share your experience with other members.

Average Customer Review: 4.72 (based on 1411 reviews)

Breakdown:
33 Reviews
4 Reviews
Sort By:

next    Showing 1 - 20 of 33    next


(5 stars) reviewed on 04/08/13 by
(jmich162) from , , United States, for a 1100 Shadow Sabre wrote:

Every bike should have one!

It took a few minutes to install and once on, I couldn't believe I was riding without one before.  This is a "must have" item if you take long trips.  It may be a little more expensive than other throttle devices, but you get what you pay for.  It engages and disengages at the touch of the button.  And the built in safety feature is awesome.  Once you touch the brake lever, the brake-away immediately disengages allowing you to stop without being under power.  Definitely buy one!


Review Details 

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 02/09/13 by
wildman (coloradosky) from ESTES PARK, CO, United States, for a 04 1100 Shadow Sabre wrote:

While riding on trips of over 600 miles per day with my throttle hand getting tired and numb, I decided it was time to invest in a cruise control. After much research, I settled on the BrakeAway cruise control unit. I installed it, spend a while adjusting it to properly disengage when braking, and eventually got it to a place where I thought it would work. Several tests and days later I took it out for a ride. It worked perfectly. On the second trip out, I was riding along and looked down to see the back part of the unit hanging down! When I got home, I found that I had neglected to tighten one screw which had vibrated out allowing the back part to pivot down. The rest of the BrakeAway was still secure. I went to the hardware to get a replacement screw as BrakeAway didn't know the size of the screw. Finally found the correct one, replaced it, and it has worked fine since then. When locking the BrakeAway cruise control, it maintains the proper speed on flat roads. H...
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 06/04/11 by
Keith T (rapelling) from Cantonment, FL, United States, for a 2012 1100 Shadow Sabre wrote:

works great
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 06/20/10 by
Jesse Youngblood (youngblood153) from sparta, TN, United States, for a Purple flame, First Crusier 1100 Shadow Sabre wrote:

I had purchased this breakaway cruise control for my honda shadaw 1100 just for the purpose of highway cruising. Bought the product a week before rolling thunder 2010 and i have to say it is worth the money and it also looks good.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 03/07/10 by
Darrin Hogue (hogueman35) from yelm, WA, US, for a 2003 honda 1100 1100 Shadow Sabre wrote:

i had another type of cruise control that anytime that it rained it seemed to slip. so far this one is good to go. it was a really pretty easy to install just a lttle tricky on adjustments. this is great for the long trips.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 07/15/09 by
(hals07sabre) from Columbus, OH, United States, for a 2007 Black/Flames (factory) 1100 Shadow Sabre wrote:

I ordered the BrakeAway Cruise Control on a Sunday and received it in the mail on Wednesday (fast USPS)! I read most of the product reviews and noted the ones that complained of the installation. READ THE INSTRUCTIONS! Get everything ready and do it. I'm an old guy; I like to take my time and try to do it right the first time. In less than an hour from mailbox to bike, the Cruiss Control was installed and I was out on the highway. The product worked flawlessly. (I have a broken bone in my right hand and this if a life-saver for me.) I know that it is pricey, but after installing it and using it, I feel that it is worth the money; and it really looks good on the bike.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 06/21/09 by
Ante Sedlic (SedlicAnte) from , , Switzerland, for a 2002 1100 Shadow Sabre wrote:

Perfect for longer trips
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 05/29/09 by
Mark Spencer (Shigonoth) from , CO, United States, for a 0 1100 Shadow Sabre wrote:

So nice to be able to rest the right hand.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 10/27/08 by
(crAzyAce) from Prince George, VA, US, for a 2007 1100 Shadow Sabre wrote:

Very impressive piece and it works as good as the advertisement say.
Review Details 

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 10/04/08 by
Chris (ToastedBeanb) from Stephens City, VA, United States, for a 2006 Blk Frame w/Gry/Dk Gry Flames 1100 Shadow Sabre wrote:

Well worth the money! I was one of those who thought the price was too high for a throttle lock and when my bike mechanic told me about this product I thought he was taking me for a ride. It is a little tricky to put on and lock in, but boy was I suprised at the quality and easy of use. It looks like it was made for the bike.
Review Details 

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 09/15/08 by
Neil (hondanbg) from San Fernando, CA, United States, for a 2005 1100 Shadow Sabre wrote:

great product. i put it on in under 30mins and it worked great. it takes a little adjusting to get it just right but once you figure out the directions its a breeze to install. very easy to engage and disengage. it was deffinatly worth the price.
Review Details 

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 09/05/08 by
Concie/Butch Curtis (oldstar51) from Columbia, MS, United States, for a 2006 Black 1100 Shadow Sabre wrote:

It was a little hard aligning to make sure the twist grip wouldn't stick once that was corrected I had no problems. Now if the Hurricane lanes would close for the season I might be able to get a small trip in before Winter sets in good. Feels good on the wrist to let my hand relax, just hope I don't go to sleep. It took me about two hours to set up, the directions are OK. I would have liked it if they would had stated it needs to be moved around until it works then put the cover over the locking device. After I took it off and aligned the part I replace the locking devices cover and had no problems with the final adjustment. I ride a 2006 Honda VT1100 Sabre I will be triking it out in a year or two if I don't decide on a Gold Wing trike. It's all about Money if it isn't worth the cost to trike the 1100 I will go to a bigger bike to trike.
Review Details 

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 03/01/08 by
Bob Mayes (rsmayes) from Vancouver, WA, United States, for a 2007 Candy Black Cherry 1100 Shadow Sabre wrote:

This piece is absolutely amazing in design, appearance, and functionality. Only took me 30 minutes to install and went out for a ride to test and it worked exactly as advertised. On a side note I am not real happy with CC bending me over for a $10 screwing on the price and why does it take 48 hours (2 days) to ship and item that is "IN STOCK".
Review Details 

4 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 07/15/07 by
Sabre 73 (KemerPetty) from Winston Salem, NC, United States, for a 2003 1100 Shadow Sabre wrote:

great value
Review Details 

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 06/14/07 by
Michael Reynolds (MistrPC) from North Richland Hills, TX, United States, for a 2006 1100 Shadow Sabre wrote:

Very easy to install once you get it over the ISO grips. Just be careful while doing so and dont slice the grip pads with the outer ring. I really like this style of control. Looks very nice on bike also.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 06/12/07 by
Ray Jackson (rayts20fan) from Dothan, AL, United States, for a 2006 Titanium Flame 1100 Shadow Sabre wrote:

Not an easy install. Very touchy. But works and looks great. The fact that it releases with the break is worth a lot.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 05/06/07 by
Ryan (rhamner) from Blaine, MN, United States, for a 2004 1100 Shadow Sabre wrote:

As good as advertised.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 04/25/07 by
Dave (bkshadow) from Springfield, IL, United States, for a 2004 Purple Flame 1100 Shadow Sabre wrote:

This is a high quality cruise control. It is expensive but worth it in terms of functionality, build quality and how easy it is to use (engage / disengage.) This looks good on the bike (like it belongs.) It is easy to adjust the throttle without taking it off lock. I have ISO grips. This will work with ISO grips but expect to spend a lot of time and effort to get this past the rubber on the grips. Pay close attention to the instructions it will make the job much easier. Take your time and you will be happy with the results.
Review Details 

6 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 08/31/06 by
Bamadog (bamadog) from Dallas, TX, United States, for a 2000 Pearl Red 1100 Shadow Sabre wrote:

Just got it... plan to install soon. Got as a present.
Review Details 

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 08/22/06 by
Jim Cavanagh (jimcav) from London, ON, Canada, for a 2005 - black 1100 Shadow Sabre wrote:

Beaufifully designed, machined and finished. Expensive but the dual cancelling action and the look make it worth it. Dealer installed with new grips (BSP-17-351 6-bar CNC) and had to grind out the opening of the Breakaway cover plate to get it to slide over the grip. Looks great installed. Works great. Still a little stiff when engaging put pops off with a touch of your thumb or a pull on the brake lever, If you are using it with the grips I have, note that the cover plate will obscure the adjustment screws that let you rotate the grip to the finger position you want. Do this adjustment first before final fitting of the cover plate or you'll just have to take it off again.
Review Details 

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No



next    Showing 1 - 20 of 33    next

}