Member Reviews for Jardine Forward Controls - Intruder 750/800, Boulevard S50 (88 to 08)

Jardine Forward Controls - Intruder 750/800, Boulevard S50 (88 to 08)

Buy Now. Earn 800 Reward Miles!
Submit Your Own Photo or Video
Free Shipping on orders over 199. Lowest Price Guarantee.
HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99% of hacker crime.
Part Number: 39-4001-01
MSRP: $850.00
Price: $799.99   Please note that due to currency fluctuations between date of order and date of shipment there can be a change in the amount in the local currency
Hurry, you save $50.01 today!
FREE SHIPPING*
Special Order Item. Ships in approximately 10 Business Days what's this?




Member Reviews

Write a review and share your experience with other members.

Average Customer Review: 4.52 (based on 21 reviews)

Breakdown:
12 Reviews
8 Reviews
1 Review
Sort By:

next    Showing 1 - 20 of 21    next


(5 stars) reviewed on 06/16/08 by
Steve Thibodeaux (Thib319) from Austin, TX, United States, for a 1997 800 Intruder wrote:

Best investment ever! Changes the entire feel of riding. Not the easiest thing to install. Took me and a friend a few hours, but not impossible for a novice. I had to take off the right side exhaust because it was too tight to fit my hands in there. The kickstand was a little stiff and it wouldn't engage the kill switch, so make sure you check that before riding. It kept dying and I couldn't figure out why. Felt like an idiot after I got it out of the shop. A $75 lesson learned. Overall, worth every penny and the install was not really that bad.
Review Details 

5 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(4 stars) reviewed on 04/28/08 by
Phil Divinagracia (flipmo27) from Edmonton, AB, Canada, for a 2010, MATALIC GREY S50 Boulevard wrote:

I dont know how I rode with out them, very comfortable. Install, the instructions where vague. I went off my manual and the reviews here online helped alot.
Review Details 

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 03/14/08 by
Tory brist (MTb8t) from Worden, MT, United States, for a 1997 Suzuki 800 Intruder wrote:

Well, It warmed up long enough for me to put on my forward controls.They look great!, And better for the price.It took me the 3 longest hours of my life to put them on What a pain, but worth it.As far as the directions go they are o.k. I kind of forgot I had them after awhile.As far as the head pipes, I took the brake side off only. There is a few cotter pins you have to work out.And the shift side,the kickstand safty switch was a pain in the ass.Offset screw driver would have been nice. And adjusting the shift lever took a couple of trys.as far as the 8 bolts that hold them on,that was the easy part.becuse 2 out of 4 wrist pins fell out somewhere down a country road.The 2 front easy ones stayed put.well I got to split, MR. BROWN is here.Hell ya!!! the box has corbin all big on it.(ooooh!!!yaaaah!!! they feel good together.well worth my 3 hours of life,the next few will be better.)
Review Details 

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(4 stars) reviewed on 06/30/07 by
john (millerjohne) from Travis AFB , CA, United States, for a 2006 Candy Apple Red...Frickin Sweet S50 Boulevard wrote:

Install was a breeze, just over 3 hours. You need to be mechanically inclined because the instructions suck...seems like I have seen that somewhere else. Would be great if there where pics and a little more step by step. You will need a few othere tools than what are listed in the instructions but you should have them around. All that said, initiall quality is great (only time will tell how they hold up), looks awsome, and I don't know how I rode with out them...COMFORTABLE! **NOTICE- something I realized the day after install (sorry I am slow) in order to accomplish the valve adjustment that must be completed at each service interval the controls must be droped. Long story short the shift linkage is blocking the cap that must be removed to access the nut (which would also be blocked by the linkage) used to turn the engine. This means more work for you if you do the service yourself or more money at the shop...each service.
Review Details 

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 03/12/07 by
Scooter Trash Mama (twistedmensa) from Phoenix, AZ, United States, for a 2004 Black w/ blue flake 800 Intruder wrote:

Wow, love my new forwards. Excellent quality and no dimpling (yea)! Fairly straightforward install. I'm no motorhead and I managed to put them on over a weekend (actual install time 4-5 hours). Note: the 4 outer bolts on the stock peg bracket (that attach the bracket to the frame) have pins that must be removed. I didn't need to remove the header pipes, but it might make the installation easier. The shifting is exaggerated and will take some getting used to, but I am very happy overall with them.
Review Details 

5 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(4 stars) reviewed on 02/21/07 by
Royce (Royce47) from Lanexa, VA, United States, for a 2006 S50 Boulevard wrote:

Very well made. Installation instructions suck! Shift linkage is fun to setup.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 02/05/07 by
Hector J. Roman (hromanarroyo) from BIRMINGHAM, AL, United States, for a 2003 800 Intruder Volusia wrote:

great product
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 02/05/07 by
Hector J. Roman (hromanarroyo) from BIRMINGHAM, AL, United States, for a 2003 800 Intruder Volusia wrote:

Great product
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 07/09/06 by
Rick (southernrider_4you) from Rembert, SC, United States, for a 2003 800 Intruder wrote:

looks great.
Review Details 

1 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(4 stars) reviewed on 06/09/06 by
jclaud (heavyrusher) from Baltimore, MD, United States, for a 2002, Black 800 Intruder wrote:

They have not been instaled yet, but from what I have read on the internet and forums I think I will like then lots.
Review Details 

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 05/06/06 by
Chris (liv2rce) from Knoxville, TN, United States, for a 2001 800 Intruder wrote:

These are terrific!! They feel and look factory. The chrome is sensational. I originally purchased Highway Hawk TecGlides for the value and looks. If you are around 5'11"+ those will be perfect for you, but they were too long for me at 5'9". So, I sold them and bought the Jardines, and I am sooo glad I did. They cost more than the Highway Hawks but IMHO I think they are worth it. Shifting is solid and smooth. Fairly easy to install if you are handy with basic tools and know your way around a scooter.
Review Details 

8 out of 8 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(3 stars) reviewed on 09/06/05 by
Greg (RCAIRGreg) from Chattahoochee, FL, United States, for a 1996 800 Intruder wrote:

well, I have a mixed review here. I will start with what I like. I like the Look, Foot position, and they were fairly easy to install. Now the things I don't like The kickstand position was so on the edge of falling that my bike Fell. Thanks goodness for Progressive insurance for cutting me a check to fix it. Number 2 the chrome is peeling, and it would be nice if they were more adjustible. I had an issue with the brake, but I was able to make a modification that worked out. I bought these used so I am not sure of there age.
Review Details 

5 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 05/17/05 by
Don Fuller (dodge258) from Virginia Beach, VA, United States, for a 1994 800 Intruder wrote:

Look great. Good quality. Very comfortable. Installation is easy if you're patient. Don't remove pipes...just loosen the header bolts.
Review Details 

5 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 06/23/04 by
Aaron (mental469) from Radford, VA, United States, for a 1999 800 Intruder wrote:

nothing but praise!!!!! the set that i got do not have the dimpling around the jardine name like so many others have said.....which is a good thing. the operation is smoother than stock, and the finish is amazing, they really weren't that bad to put on either. i'm 5'8'' and the stretch is perfect, could not ask for more. a bit costly but well worth it.
Review Details 

6 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(4 stars) reviewed on 06/05/04 by
Geri (Anastasia) from Scranton, PA, United States, for a 1996 800 Intruder wrote:

Great addition to comfort. Look great and work great. however, chrome is starting to peel. For the price paid, quality could have lasted a bit longer.
Review Details 

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(4 stars) reviewed on 05/29/04 by
DDillion (ddillion) from Beaumont, TX, United States, for a 2003 800 Intruder wrote:

Put these on yesterday. look fantastic!! feel as good as they look. A word of warning, the instructions are not very clear, if you are not mechanically inclined, have the dealer do the job. Adjustment can be a little tidious as well. Once they are on, you will wonder how you ever rode without them!!!
Review Details 

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 05/25/04 by
dave michaud (minpin) from pelham, NH, United States, for a 800 Intruder wrote:

don`t know how i rode without them
Review Details 

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 10/18/03 by
ray montano (romanmontano) from Albuquerque, NM, United States, for a 1998 800 Intruder wrote:

PUT THE CONTROLS ON EARLIER TODAY. TOOK QUITE A WHILE, PROBABLY DUE TO MY LACK OF MECHANIC EXPERIENCE. I DID'NT REMOVE THE HEAD PIPES AS DIRECTED BY THE INSRUCTIONS, BUT RECOMMEND DOING SO IF YOU DON'T HAVE TINY HANDS. THE LOOK, FEEL, AND OVERALL QUALITY OF THE CONTROLS IS EXCELLENT! PICTURES DON'T DO THIS PRODUCT JUSTICE. I CAN'T WAIT TO SHOW THEM OFF. IF YOU'VE READ THE OTHER REVIEWS YOU CAN TRUST THEY WILL COME WITH DIMPLES UNDER THE JARDINE LOGO, BUT THEY AREN'T ON THE OVAL PORTION BUT ON THE UNDER CARRIGE PORTION.
Review Details 

8 out of 8 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 08/09/03 by
Flyrod (Flyrod6057) from Yelm, WA, United States, for a 2006 800 Intruder wrote:

Install wasn't complicated, but I did remove and reinstall the same stuff a few times (no pictures...I'm dumb...) Getting the shift linkage just right took a while. Took about 3 1/2 hours or so to get it all finished up. But the bike rides like a different machine now. Bottom line: I can't believe anyone rides without forward controls!!! The down side: they're on the pricey side, and the pivot points use unsealed bronze bushings. If you ride in the rain, expect to lube often. Finish is pretty good on the visible stuff, but it could be better. Dimples in the chrome, just where another earlier review said they'd be. All in all, they're pretty cool. And the comfort can't be beat.
Review Details 

5 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(4 stars) reviewed on 05/26/03 by
Maverick (jmassett) from Ontario, NY, United States, for a 1987 800 Intruder wrote:

These controls are sweet, but, I am a little disappointed with one thing. The chrome finish on the right side, just below where "Jardine" is engraved, there are many dimples (dents) in the finish. It looks like someone hit it with a hammer about 10 times. I called Jardine and they said that's the way it is because there is a large pin on the inside that must go through a hole, which they attempt to fill and grind. Every thing about these controls is great, except for that. Maybe it's just on my model. Who knows.
Review Details 

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No



next    Showing 1 - 20 of 21    next

Scroll left
People who viewed Member Reviews for Jardine Forward Controls - Intruder 750/800, Boulevard S50 (88 to 08) also viewed
Scroll right
}
Page accelerated by IISpeed - Page Speed optimization by Google for Microsoft IIS and ASP.NET