Member Reviews for Kuryakyn Rider Backrest- Honda GL1800 Goldwing Models (01- 10)

Kuryakyn Rider Backrest- Honda GL1800 Goldwing Models (01- 10)

Buy Now. Earn 270 Reward Miles!
Member Submitted Photos & Videos
Submit Your Own Photo or Video
Powered by MotoTribe
Free Shipping on orders over 199. Lowest Price Guarantee.
HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99% of hacker crime.
Additional 10% OFF Select Brands, Use Coupon CC10
Part Number: KY-8990
MSRP: 299.99
Price: $269.99   Please note that due to currency fluctuations between date of order and date of shipment there can be a change in the amount in the local currency
Hurry, you save $30.00 today!
FREE SHIPPING*
In Stock Usually ships within 1 business day what's this?






Member Reviews

Write a review and share your experience with other members.

Average Customer Review: 3.74 (based on 35 reviews)

Breakdown:
12 Reviews
10 Reviews
7 Reviews
4 Reviews
2 Reviews
Sort By:

next    Showing 1 - 20 of 35    next


(1 stars) reviewed on 10/27/10 by
Andy Capps from Savannah, GA, United States, for a 2005/ Blue 1800 wrote:

Installed this on my 2005 Wing and it is horrible, unless you want to sit straight up and maybe even leaning forward a little!!! I called Kuryakyn and the only thing they could tell me was to put it in the last hole in the bracket, which it already is but it SUCKS!
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 01/05/10 by
scott&sandy meyers from Melbourne, FL, United States, for a 2004 white and 2004 blk cherry 1800 wrote:

very nice backrest. makes long trips easy on the back. when installing, make sure two people spread the bars to put in bracket. would be very easy to rip seat. back pouch really doesnt hold much, thin camera, wallet, etc. matches great with the oem seat.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 09/29/09 by
from Spring, TX, United States, for a 2006 GL1800 Black 1800 wrote:

Second Piece added. Very comfortable
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 11/09/08 by
from Glendale, WI, United States, for a Goldwing Dark Red 1800 wrote:

A must have for long rides......
Review Details 

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 10/29/08 by
mark strickland from Columbus, GA, United States, for a 2008 titanium 1800 wrote:

This is one of Best Accessories for long trips, a must.
Review Details 

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(2 stars) reviewed on 06/15/08 by
from Ft Erie, ON, Canada, for a 2004 1800 wrote:

I'm 5'6" and this back rest hits too high in the back. The advertising is misleading... it is NOT easy to adjust and be careful about tearing the seat as the fasteners press right into it. Couldn't adjust it to make it comfortable. Had it back far enough just to have something to lean against for stretching on long trips. I was very disappointed in the quality of this expensive accessory. After 3 years the bracket chrome has rusted and pealed. Just found this out when I removed it to change the stock seat out for a custom seat with a back rest. I'm looking forward to riding with something that works. AVOID buying it!!! and get something else.
Review Details 

16 out of 18 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(4 stars) reviewed on 06/12/08 by
from Miami, FL, United States, for a 2007 blue 1800 wrote:

Easy to install good looking and a plus for long trips.
Review Details 

3 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(4 stars) reviewed on 06/03/08 by
Pepper N/A from D'escousse, NS, Canada, for a 2006 Titanium 1800 wrote:

Nice back rest... Best one I have owned.. Only one problem, the pocket on the back is to tight... you can not put much in it
Review Details 

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(4 stars) reviewed on 04/12/08 by
Shawn Krupka from Timmins, ON, Canada, for a 2007 charcoal black metallic 1800 wrote:

a must for those long trips
Review Details 

3 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(4 stars) reviewed on 09/20/07 by
Charles Gibson from Ottawa, ON, Canada, for a Blue 2001 1800 wrote:

Came with new bike. A must for long distance trips.
Review Details 

4 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(4 stars) reviewed on 09/13/07 by
Mike Ortiz from Goodyear, AZ, United States, for a 2007 Dk Orange with Lehman Trike Conversion 1800 wrote:

Will update when I recieve it.
Review Details 

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(1 stars) reviewed on 09/04/07 by
from winter haven, FL, United States, for a 2007 1800 wrote:

This is very poorly engineered. It does not support your lower back, and actually hits my back in the middle of my shoulder blades. It is difficult to adjust, taking 75 to 90 lbs pressure to get the thing off the brackets, and then to re-adjust. The literature says "be careful not to tear your seat when adjusting", and I think it is an abomination that a product would be designed that would damage my bike when making a normal adjustment. I wrote to the president and am waiting for his reply, if he replies, otherwise, I am going to take it off and return it and buy something that works. Bought August 2007.
Review Details 

5 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(2 stars) reviewed on 07/07/07 by
Dene from Courtenay, BC, Canada, for a 2007 Dark Red Metallic 1800 wrote:

You can see what I've purchased for my new Goldwing so far. Everything is great until I put this abortion on. I definitely would like to caution you if you're remotely thinking about getting this backrest like I did to go with another brand. I'm 6'1" and this backrest has 3 settings, I opted to put it on the rear most mount. After installing it, (very easy), you look at the side profile of the bike, this backrest sits past the back of the drivers seat so my butt can't sit againest the "potato chip" upright of the stock seat. It doesn't even come close to following the profile of the natural seating position and I think that Kuryakyn did this because it would intrude on the passengers real estate too much, so they made the thing angle forward. It makes me look like I'm craneing to look over top of the windshield. I am thinking of drilling the front hole on each sidearm out so I can tilt the side mounting arms up to gain me a few degrees of comfort but then risk ticking off my wife.... ...
Review Details 

6 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 07/04/07 by
Frank Soltis from Toms River, NJ, United States, for a GL1800 2007 dark matallic orange 1800 wrote:

Excellent backrest and its very comfortable
Review Details 

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 05/11/07 by
Odie1800 from D'escouse, NS, Canada, for a 2006 Titanium with a Voyageur cargo trailer 1800 wrote:

very nice to have
Review Details 

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(3 stars) reviewed on 11/25/06 by
Bryan Haire from , , Americas, for a 2006 Silver 1800 wrote:

no more back ache
Review Details 

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(2 stars) reviewed on 08/22/06 by
tuck from Annapolis, MD, United States, for a white 1800 wrote:

Over priced and overrated. I had to grind the cams to a different shape because as designed, it kept me up too straight and I didn't want to bend the bars back. It is hard to remove without risking damage to the seat, and is too high for lumbar support which is the purpose of a backest. Also, it pinches the drivers seatback when moved forward.
Review Details 

7 out of 8 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(3 stars) reviewed on 08/03/06 by
Ray from Concord, NC, United States, for a 2006 Honda Gold Wing with GPS 1800 wrote:

What can I say... I like the idea, but product design is not quite what I expected. First, installation instructions (as with most Kuryakyn products) was poorly written but after a few minutes of sorting things in my mind, I was able to install the unit in about 20 minutes. Secondly, even with the back rest in the very back mounting hole, it still pushes me too far forward. I don't know how to overcome this and would love to know if someone has a fix.
Review Details 

6 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(2 stars) reviewed on 05/27/06 by
Don Taylor from GOLDSBORO, NC, United States, for a 2006 TITANIUM 1800 wrote:

Works good but no adjusting the angle or Lumbar support.
Review Details 

11 out of 12 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 04/21/06 by
Kyle Bradshaw from Escalon, CA, United States, for a 2006 Dark Red, Prem Audio, Comfort, Navi 1800 wrote:

Great for LONG rides, but I do not like the "lack of movement" feeling I get in the city.
Review Details 

5 out of 11 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No



next    Showing 1 - 20 of 35    next

}