Member Reviews for Kuryakyn Tombstone Taillight - Yamaha XV650/ 1100 V-Star Classic/ Road Star/ Kawasaki VN1600 Classic

Kuryakyn Tombstone Taillight - Yamaha XV650/ 1100 V-Star Classic/ Road Star/ Kawasaki VN1600 Classic

Buy Now. Earn 144 Reward Miles!
Member Submitted Photos & Videos
Submit Your Own Photo or Video
Powered by MotoTribe
Free Shipping on orders over 199. Lowest Price Guarantee.
HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99% of hacker crime.
Additional 10% OFF Select Brands, Use Coupon CC10
Part Number: KY-4992
MSRP: 159.99
Price: $143.99   Please note that due to currency fluctuations between date of order and date of shipment there can be a change in the amount in the local currency
Hurry, you save $16.00 today!
In Stock Usually ships within 1 business day what's this?






Member Reviews

Write a review and share your experience with other members.

Average Customer Review: 4.66 (based on 114 reviews)

Breakdown:
83 Reviews
26 Reviews
5 Reviews
1 Review
Sort By:

next    Showing 1 - 20 of 115    next


(5 stars) reviewed on 01/07/14 by
CyberByte (CyberByte727) from , , IE, for a 2000 650 V-Star Classic wrote:

Fantastic looks, but awkward installation

I recently bought this taillight and the Kuryakyn turn signals to go with it.  The taillight itself was easy to install, but like one of the previous reviews, the instructions were very poor, and the turn signals they recommended to fit on the website were the WRONG ones.  It's now been fixed, but I had a long and confusing series of emails with Kuryakyn over it.  I finally managed to make them fit, and they look great now, but it was a real pain in the ass for a while.


Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 05/25/13 by
Waz (Wazzacruiser) from , , United States, for a 0 650 V-Star Classic wrote:

Pretty easy Install

I bought my bike with an older model Tombstone already fitted but broken. I purchased a new one from CC and got it last week. After reading plenty of reviews I found it was easy to install with the fiddly bits of mounting the silver bullets not too much bother. I did as many suggested and cut the loom short and joined the light wires just behind the mounting point of the light on the inner guard. I ran the earth wire direct to the lower Light Mounting Bolt and added a cable holder at the same point to keep the wires away from the rear wheel. In all Easy and it looks and works great


Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 04/17/12 by
(stabzu) from nanaimo, BC, CA, for a 2009 1100 V-Star Classic wrote:

I just finished installing this. The instructions are unclear however this isn't my first time installing a taillight. This is relatively easy install for anyone with a little knowledge on lights. FYI this does fit a Canadian 5x8 license plate!!!
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 11/16/11 by
John (jsell9) from Sparks, NV, for a 2003 1600/1700 Road Star wrote:

crazy instructions need to have pictures added custom cruiser had a wrong part number on the web site to order the turn signals that has been corrected the run stop turn signal plug from Kuryakyn is needed to make it easy VERY BRIGHT much brighter than OEM
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 09/10/11 by
vulcanrw (vulcanrw) from El Cajon, CA, United States, for a 2003 1600 Vulcan Classic wrote:

I already had the previous edition/generation of this tail light on my bike. For some reason the lens was cracking around the three mounting screws. I called Kuryakyn about this and asked if they sold just the lens and they said no. They also said they have never heard of the lens cracking before. I decided to give them another chance. I placed the order with cruisercustomizing.com and when the order arrived I inspected it thoroughly and good thing too as I found cracks in the lens (in the upper left corner like it had been dropped). I called customer support with cruisiercustomizing.com and arranged to ship my item back for inspection. After they checked it out and confirmed that I didn't cause the damage my replacement part was shipped. Checked it again and this time the part was perfect. I used my previous method to install this one and that was to solder all connections to the OEM plug connectors. This way if I needed to remove the light it would be as simple as possible,...
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 04/28/11 by
(jbordelon) from , , for a 2000 650 V-Star Classic wrote:

This came with my bike when I bought it. It looks a lot better than the stock lights though.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 03/19/11 by
(uwf1983) from Fort Worth, TX, United States, for a 2007 1100 V-Star Classic wrote:

On my bike already when purchased used. I much prefer the look of this taillight to the stock V Star taillight. It does leave 2 bolt holes visible in your rear fender since this light is narrower than the stock light.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 03/17/11 by
Dave Harris (k9dave31) from , , United States, for a 2000 1600/1700 Road Star wrote:

Easy install on the roadstar 1600. I did not follow the directions for wiring, but rathe tapped into the the wires under the rear fender versus going all the way back to the seat to tap in. Yamaha wire colors Ground: black Brake: yellow Running/license: Blue Left turn: brown Right turn: dark green Love the look...realy changes the rear end appearance of the roadstar
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(4 stars) reviewed on 05/24/10 by
(Patrick9) from , , United States, for a 650 V-Star Classic wrote:

Looks great on the bike, but I definitely recommend doing this mod in conjunction with a paint project. I welded over the holes that this doesn't cover before I painted and it turned out great. Otherwise you'll have to leave open holes or patch somehow, and that will affect your finished look. I have pictures of the holes I welded on my profile here if you need help identifying which one. I had to guess, but got lucky and got it right. The light fits the contour of the V-star 650 fender perfectly, mounting it was no problem. It came with a license plate frame and light on the bottom that I removed. It looked like it would have scraped the fender if I left it on, but I went with a license plate relocation to the side. Since the mounts for that were tucked up under, it left a nice finished look with no visible mounts for the parts removed. Make sure you get the LED blinkers, as this light comes with the mounting holes. They were a pain to mount. The mounting bolt did not h...
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 05/05/09 by
Ron (rcovill) from Springfield, VA, United States, for a 2006 1100 V-Star Classic wrote:

They look great and are very bright. Pain in the A$$ to install. Kuryakyn Tombstone taillight part number 4992 and turn signals part number 1619. Had to grind down 5mm allen wrench to tighten screws when mounting part number 1619 to part number 4992. All provided wires were to short. Had to splice wires in to reach under seat. Provided connectors are cheap. Recommend soldering the wires and heat shrink.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 02/20/09 by
Rick (ARoadieforReal) from Lilburn, GA, United States, for a 2003 1600/1700 Road Star wrote:

No more moustache. The choir sings Haleluyah. Looks great
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 10/27/08 by
G.K. (Rkleconu) from Central Point, OR, United States, for a 2002 1100 V-Star Classic wrote:

the one thing I disliked about my bike was the mustache yamaha tail light set. This solved all my problems at once. Love the clean lines now and improved the "being seen" issue. went to auto store and purchased some plugs and since my bike is black you don't notice the two drill holes that are left after install. we spent a Saturday Morning maybe 4 hours to install all the tombstone, bullets, License Plate Frame, Kuryakyn Small Visored Bezels, and the Kuryakyn Run-Turn-Brake Controller. Works great together.
Review Details 

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 08/13/08 by
eric (bige55) from apo, , United States, for a 2007 1100 V-Star Classic wrote:

looks awsome on my bike and got the large bullets for the turn signals although i did have to modify the bolts that hold on the turn signals bc they were too long and would not fit properly. luckly there is a bike shop up the road and they grinded them down for nothing.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 08/02/08 by
Mark (REDICEDOG) from , BC, Canada, for a 0 650 V-Star Classic wrote:

awesome tail light. Installed so easy I could hardly believe it,fit the contour of my fender perfectly,did'nt have to drill any holes used exsiting ones,A must have to clean up the rear of the bike!!!!!!
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(4 stars) reviewed on 07/29/08 by
Björn Sörensen (Sorensen) from Degerfors, , for a 2007 1600/1700 Road Star wrote:

After a little work regarding the wiring it's in place and looking good.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(4 stars) reviewed on 07/03/08 by
Brian Crowe (classiccruzer96) from Bostic, NC, United States, for a 2005 1100 V-Star Classic wrote:

great look........
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(3 stars) reviewed on 06/24/08 by
Jimbo (jimbo5971) from Chicago, IL, United States, for a 2000 650 V-Star Classic wrote:

Nice item but when it was put together they mangled the gasket. Also they don't give you much room to bolt up the turn signals.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 05/17/08 by
michael gumm (gumm38) from chillicothe, OH, United States, for a 2001 black cherry,molly orange ghost flames 1100 V-Star Classic wrote:

very nice taillight,and with the silver bullets and plate cover,it makes your bike look good.
Review Details 

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 04/02/08 by
Glisson (Glisson) from Brooks, AB, Canada, for a 2007 Black C90 Boulevard wrote:

This thing is beautiful. Not a direct replacement and requires some bodywork but it looks wicked on the bike!
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 03/03/08 by
david crocker (roadstarcannon) from lexington, SC, United States, for a 2001 1600/1700 Road Star wrote:

really cool setup. installed with the large bullet signals & kuryakyn run/turn/brake elec. kit. gives the bike a totally different look. more like a custom. lots of compliments from other riders.
Review Details 

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No



next    Showing 1 - 20 of 115    next

}