Member Reviews for Kuryakyn Transformer Backrest W/ Fold-Down Luggage Rack - Universal Fitment Use W/ Kuryakyn Quick Release Side Plate Kit

Kuryakyn Transformer Backrest W/ Fold-Down Luggage Rack - Universal Fitment  Use W/ Kuryakyn Quick Release Side Plate Kit


Buy Now. Earn 180 Reward Miles!
Member Submitted Photos & Videos
Submit Your Own Photo or Video
Powered by MotoTribe
Free Shipping on orders over 199. Lowest Price Guarantee.
HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99% of hacker crime.
Additional 10% OFF Select Brands, Use Coupon CC10
Part Number: KY-1606
MSRP: 199.99
Price: $179.99   Please note that due to currency fluctuations between date of order and date of shipment there can be a change in the amount in the local currency
Hurry, you save $20.00 today!
In Stock Usually ships within 1 business day what's this?






View installation guide

Related Searches: sissybar bags

Member Reviews

Write a review and share your experience with other members.

Average Customer Review: 4.00 (based on 17 reviews)

Breakdown:
6 Reviews
7 Reviews
4 Reviews
Sort By:

next    Showing 1 - 17 of 17    next


(5 stars) reviewed on 01/13/13 by
Ron (rkrause4) from Melbourne, FL, United States, for a 2007 black with flames 1100 Shadow Sabre wrote:

need some kind of accessory to ease fitment on Honda Sabre type bikes (shadow series). I had to do a little bending, but it was worth the trouble. Looks and works great.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 08/25/12 by
(PDXStar) from , , for a 1100 V-Star Classic wrote:

Installation was easy and I like the look on my Star. However, I had what could have been a significant problem installing the mounting brackets. I have saddle bags on my bike since I bought it along with the mounting brackets. The screws/bolts that come with the mounting bracket for the sissy bar aren't long enough for both items. Fortunately I saved the bolts that came with saddlebag brackets which had some long enough to do the install.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(4 stars) reviewed on 06/24/12 by
(digitus) from , , for a 1100 V-Star Custom wrote:

Looks awesome and in stall was easy. Someone reviewed that it rattled, but I haven't noticed. Great buy.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 06/12/12 by
Walid Farouk (aamwalid) from , , for a 0 1800 VTX1800C wrote:

Looks great on the bike & it took me about 15 min to install ...
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(3 stars) reviewed on 02/14/12 by
Chris (Capmatic) from , QC, Canada, for a 0 1800 VTX1800F wrote:

Install the back rest last night, it was not a standard installation, therefore I cannot comment on installation, the quality is excellent as most of Kuryakyn products, as for the final look, I am not sure yet if I like it or not, the back does not seem to be comfortable as the padding is limited a little rubber strip, time will tell
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(4 stars) reviewed on 01/24/12 by
Greg Cole (Greg02) from , , Australia, for a 0 1100 V-Star Custom wrote:

Easy fitting and looks great. Some better design perhaps for the locking thumbscrew that holds the luggage rack in place. The circlip that stops the locking bolt from falling out, I can see is likely to fall off when using the rack and then lose the bolt. The clip actually also gets caught on the thread and stops easy storing away of the luggage rack into the back rest when not in use. Great idea and looks great...... Just needs a better solution for this component.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(4 stars) reviewed on 01/05/12 by
(gortech) from Trenton, ON, for a 2006 1100 V-Star Custom wrote:

Quality appears to be there. Purchased mostly for looks but nice to have the option to strap something to a rack if and when needed.179
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(4 stars) reviewed on 04/15/11 by
(jwilley91977) from Spring Valley, CA, for a 2001 1100 V-Star Custom wrote:

Nothing more to add
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(4 stars) reviewed on 03/03/11 by
Chris Rogers (ChrisFRKNRogers) from Tucson, AZ, United States, for a '07 Midnight 1100 V-Star Custom wrote:

Looks AWESOME! Every ride brings new comments from people I meet. Only downside is that it rattles without a passenger putting weight against it. I fixed it by adding a few more foam strips between the backrest and rack. Chrome washers that came in the hardware kit didn't fit in the counter bores to my side trim, but Ace Hardware carries chrome hardware and they had the perfect size.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(3 stars) reviewed on 12/27/10 by
michael mcdonald (michaelmcd) from louisville, KY, United States, for a 2003 durango red, LED's, peacemaker exhaust 1300 VTX1300R (S) Retro wrote:

i was very satisfied with the transformer when i installed it. no doubt it looks awesome, especially on the VTX retro. however i think that for the money the quality could be a little better. the rubber pad started to pitt after a couple months (from sunlight, i guess since it was 6 months before i had any riders use it). i used to ride around with the rack down & empty cause i like the look, but the thing rattles ALOT like that. one last thing, the nut that holds the rack up fell out when i was riding like that, so now it's gone. i do get lots of compliments on it though, & about a year later, i still haven't seen any others around home, so that's cool.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 08/20/10 by
(RUtheDragon) from , MT, United States, for a 0 1100 V-Star Custom wrote:

Recieved my first "Nice bike" comment from a stranger after I installed the Transformer. It stands out more than a regular "square back" sissy bar giving my bike a more eye catching appeal. The luggage rack is extremely easy to use and when it's put away, others never notice it's there. Did have to remove the stock chrome to use it with the Yamaha saddle bag guards. This set up is not in the instructions, but Kuryakn provides enough spacers and washers to make a clean looking install.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(3 stars) reviewed on 07/10/10 by
(AmmDuMan) from , , for a 1300 VTX1300C wrote:

its a really great concept. just wish it was more robust and able to hold more weight. the weight rating on the luggage rack, according to Kuryakyn is only 10 lbs. it looks like it might hold more to me. I had one of the bolts on the luggage rack strip out and fall out while on a ride. the internal threads on the backrest itself are what is stripped out. I recommend lock tight when putting this thing together. even the bolts that are already installed when you pull it out if the box. I'm going to try and have it replaced and see what the second one brings. **update** i got it replaced thanx to the great customer service on this site and the new one is holding together nicely.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 06/10/10 by
MrHighlander (mrhighlander) from Ridgeley, WV, United States, for a Blue 1300 VTX1300R (S) Retro wrote:

Follows the lins of the VTX beautifully. Plus only having the rack when needed is just COOOL. BUT...The chrome was either in the threads or they just did a piss poor job of threading the holes for mounting. I can fix...life goes on...
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(4 stars) reviewed on 05/18/10 by
Zayne Bond (Zayne) from Perth, WA, Australia, for a 2008 Factory flame red 1800 VTX1800C wrote:

Easy to install and looks fantastic. Not another one like it that i have seen in Perth.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(3 stars) reviewed on 03/13/10 by
FLASH DENNIS (xmen779) from Pleasantville, NJ, United States, for a 2006 BLACK 1800 VTX1800F wrote:

nice to have
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(4 stars) reviewed on 09/03/09 by
PappyX Cox (PappyX) from Oswalt, OK, US, for a Candy Apple Red 2008 1300 VTX1300C wrote:

I don't really like sissy bars, but i really needed one for my trips to work. I seen the transformer and thought thats more my taste, so decided to try one. Loved it from the moment i seen it, it really looks great on my bike, 08 vtx1300c. Get nothing but compliments every where i go. It did come straight out of the box with a stripped nut where you attach the backrest to the bars, but decided to keep it and fix myself because i needed right then and didn' want to wait on returns. But I love it!
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


(5 stars) reviewed on 06/29/09 by
Starr (starrblade) from Covington, WA, United States, for a 2007 VTX 1300 C Maroon 1300 VTX1300C wrote:

Love the look and great quality.
Review Details 

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No



next    Showing 1 - 17 of 17    next

}